• Welcome to A forum for van conversions, van living and travel. Please log in or sign up.

Forum upgraded!

Hello all I am MrShoeShineMan

Started by MrShoeShineMan, April 18, 2017, 04:44:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MrShoeShineMan

Hello one and all likeminded people. I have recently been inspired to fully uptake the van life as both a new lifestyle and part of a career path. I am an artist, graphic designer and sculptor and have always been an oddball by societies standards.

I went to look at my first van this morning only to find it had a bit of a naff back door and no service history so was extremely tentative about buying it, so I didn't. I'll be looking at more in the coming weeks and hope to have my van within 2-3 weeks of posting this. Currently making my way through the van dog book to become familiar with what planning is involved.

I have decided on a LWB Hi-top ford transit for conversion and have already got a few friends interested in helping me out. UNfortunately due to mental health problems (borderline personality disorder) I can't work a traditional type of job, ie with other people, so I have tried my darnedest to be self supporting and living in a van will be a step towards both the career and the life I want to lead, but have otherwise lacked the confidence to pull off, lacked the confidence to ask my friends and family to help me out where I can't work for the money by trading my time for efforts. So I have a kickstarter going live on friday to help raise funds towards it and a few friends offering to help out already so with any luck I will be well on my way by the end of summer.

It really is a now or never type thing. I can only see this as my vision for my future, I have already spoke to so many wonderful and free individuals that I definitely know this is the right path to take to not be filled with regret.