• Welcome to A forum for van conversions, van living and travel. Please log in or sign up.

Forum upgraded!

hammock not the best solution?

Started by jbroder, August 15, 2016, 04:45:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbroder

Hi all,

I read in Mike's book that hammock is "not really the best solution for a permanent bed". I'm curious why this is, and whether there are any alternatives for mattress-based sleeping.

I am guessing that using a hammock that can be stowed away would significantly reduce construction required in a blank state van or bus, so I'd like to try it out first, unless it's known to cause issues.

All I can google are benefits of hammocks, and the explanations are so pro-hammock that I'm

And the speaker here is a complete noobie at van dwelling. I am currently a dreamer who is serious about getting started and doing a lot of research. With love for cycling and the ridiculous real estate price in the Bay Area, California, it's increasingly making sense to try this lifestyle to take the most advantage of the ample nature here.

Thanks all in advance!

Josh

kryten

Have you ever slept in a hammock before? If yes, and you feel comfortable doing this then go for it. If you haven't slept in a hammock then give it a go and see if it works for you. My personal choice would be hammocks great for relaxing but not ideal for a permanent sleeping solution.

jbroder

Thanks - that's a nice and simple explanation. I can get a hammock stand and try sleeping on a hammock every day.

SpitfireMatt

I often sleep in a hammock and I find them really comfortable. I've traveled with Mike (vandog) a few times now and have slept in his hammock. I found it just as comfortable until the temperature drops over night. Because certain parts of your body are pushed into the hammock you develop cold spots which wake you and then you have to rotate to your side. I was using a 3 seasons sleeping bag as well. At low altitudes and in summer is great though