• Welcome to A forum for van conversions, van living and travel. Please log in or sign up.

Forum upgraded!

Anyone know about ambulance electrics?

Started by Hendo, May 26, 2017, 08:19:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hendo

Hi all.
Having done a couple of conversions, Ive now started on an ex-ambulance.  I'm an electrician, but the alterations made by the original conversion company are difficult to suss out.  They have seemingly integrated the rear cabin electrics and controls into the van's own loom in various ways.  In particular there is an isolator switch on the dash which cuts off the both batteries, except that some parts of the system are still live, eg. the imobiliser.  As it's a Renault Master with CANBUS there is no easy way to trace the cables.   If I just start chopping wires it won't end well. 
Does anyone out there have any knowledge of how the wiring is altered?  A schematic would be great!
Cheers
Roy

Camper_Dan

Easy Answer:  Check with the original manufacturer, maybe for online ambulance forums, ebay, etc.  Advertise for a copy from a current owner.

Great Advice: If it ain't broke, don't fix it!  If there is equipment you don't want, check the voltage and identify the switches, and mark them for later use, cap them to prevent shorts, then remove what you don't want, leaving the wiring intact.

In the future, if a system goes down, and it isn't easily replaceable, install a completely new system, with it's own wiring.

Good Luck!
Smiles are extremely contagious,
Pass them on!!!

Hendo

Hi.