• Welcome to A forum for van conversions, van living and travel. Please log in or sign up.

Forum upgraded!

Have gone full Tom Hanks in Castaway! Help!

Started by bouve, February 21, 2017, 07:16:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bouve

Hey guys,

I'm just new to the forum and to Camper Converting. My lady van is called Betsy, she's a 2002 2.8 Iveco, medium wheelbase and she was a total steal, meant to be. I'm converting her for the full- time traveling life.

I've stripped her out as she had a lot of mould and mice and wasps (some of my favourite things) and she's now ready for insulation. But before I can do this I have to re- seal the windows, cut in some extractor fan holes and fit a roof rack to install Solar panels if indeed I do go down that route.

She already came fitted with a Zig CF8 unit, and trying to figure out the other things that I need to complete the electrical system has been a bit difficult for a complete beginner. I say a bit, I mean I've been tearing my hair out. Never the less I have deducted more or less what wiring has been used for the Zig unit to encompass the 12v appliances that came with the van, depicted in the diagrams below: Fig. 1 and Fig 2.

(That still doesn't mean that I know what it all means, for example if I have a split charge relay to charge a leisure battery via the engine alternator and how I would wire anything else running on 12v directly to the system.) I am unsure of how far the previous owners got with the conversion attempt they made so I'm unsure of whether the circuit is complete or not. I would love to be able to add a 12v extractor fan to that wiring system, or perhaps use the bathroom light wiring for a light come extractor fan instead.