• Welcome to A forum for van conversions, van living and travel. Please log in or sign up.

Forum upgraded!

Looking for a Van (I have no idea what I'm doing!)

Started by Paul In The Hat, February 25, 2015, 05:00:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul In The Hat

Hey, I'm looking for a van but have no idea how to tell what a "good" offer is.

I want to get an LDV convoy, because I don't have time to do the research myself and I trust Mike's judgement.
My plan is to get an already converted campervan first, then convert it myself later on in the year when I've got some experience travelling and more of an idea of what I'd like.

What do I look for in a used LDV convoy campervan?
What are the things to look out for?

This is an ad I'm looking at. Opinions?

http://www.gumtree.com/p/campervans-motorhomes/ldv-convoy-long-wheel-base.-lovely-conversion.-/1101462628

treevorb

The thing I like about Convoys is the simplicity, I don't think there is anything I couldn't fix if it went wrong.
AAAAAAnd the only problem apart from the usual general mtc things I have had is the battery in the immobiliser key went, try finding one of them in the wilds of Croatia.
Do the belts waterpump and brakes if needed and you will have a reliable old bus and get years of use if you keep on top of it.
Best of luck
T
Facebook
The Euro Bimble

Tai-chi wanderer

2 penny worth, seems a bit pricey. Go and have a look, especially under the bonnet and chassis, take a mate I would say.

Camper Van Travels

I agree with Tai-Chi, given the asking price I would expect for the money a younger van with less miles on it.

Mine for example is the same as the one you linked to - P-Reg, 74,000 miles, 12 months MOT when I bought her albeit not converted.