• Welcome to A forum for van conversions, van living and travel. Please log in or sign up.

Forum upgraded!

Solar Install 12v vs 110v power needs

Started by JustTooFarr, January 29, 2018, 04:31:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JustTooFarr

Hello All, I am just starting out a conversion of a Ram Promaster into my ultimate adventure. van life, office vehicle

My biggest dilemma so far has come in the form of the solar system and power requirements. I have been bouncing back and forth between installing a Goal Zero system with a Yeti 1400 power unit or going with a Renogy kit that fits my needs.
I have more or less settled on the Renogy system I think (though any advice on this topic is appreciated.)

My question is regarding 12v and 110v needs and how to hook up 12v powered devices with an inverter based system. Would you just skip the inverter and wire them directly to the battery/ power supply?
With the goal zero system it is made pretty simple for you with 12v and 110v access on the front, though this is limited in both. On the flip side with a standard solar set up I obviously have 110v from the inverter but am a bit confused with where i could access 12v power aside from coming straight from the battery (which honestly just seems to easy to be true)
So any guidance on a solar set up would be appreciated.

I know this topic has probably been beaten to death so i appreciate your patience with my dumb question

Thanks
Nick

Camper_Dan

Greetings & Welcome!

Let me start out by saying that I'm not a huge fan of solar panels...  Of the several systems I've had, none have worked satisfactorily without the addition of charging my house batteries while driving, and a generator.  In the end, I came to the conclusion that the solar was just an added expense that wasn't necessary.