• Welcome to A forum for van conversions, van living and travel. Please log in or sign up.

Forum upgraded!

Desktop Computers and Vanlife?

Started by Joe_Duffy, April 12, 2017, 01:41:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joe_Duffy

Hi there,
I desperately want to hit the road and start the van life but the problem is I work as a 3D artist in the video game industry and therefore need a lot of computing power in my home / office.  The computer I am using in my home at the moment has a 780W power supply unit.   I see almost no vans with desktops in on the internet which leads me to believe that this just is not possible?

I know very little about how to hook up the vans electricity and am just looking for some general advice before I invest money into a van.  I am looking at getting a sprinter van or something around that size and putting solar panels on the roof.

Any advice or tips?  Thanks in advance.

nomadnovan

I have thought about ditching the desktop and getting a high powered laptop. I had a look at a Dell XPS, it has a GTX 1060 and also USB type C charging you could buy a few of those portable power supplies. I've seen 20,000 MAh, so a few of those would keep you going all day.

How about asking/paying a friend/employer to keep your desktop somewhere, and remote onto it from a low power laptop?

Camper_Dan

You're talking a ton of money for a questionable system here...

I'm thinking that shore power or a generator would be your best bet, if you can't get more energy efficient equipment.
Smiles are extremely contagious,
Pass them on!!!

Dodge

Hi bud,
I do the same job (or close enough!)

At the moment my desktop is setup at the back of my mates tattoo studio, pay a small bit towards elecy and the brew gear and just go there when im doing work. Bar that for the van I will be eventually getting a laptop and some spare batteries.